By SusanL.Serbin

SPIRIT correspondent

The 2016 Springfield High School Arts & Achievers Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony honored 11 graduates with outstanding accomplishments. Graduation years ranged from 1956 to 2001 and fields of endeavor from rocket science to reality television.

Springfield, which has had an Athletic Hall of Fame, created the Arts Hall of Fame more than a decade ago to recognize those in the performing, visual and technical arts. More recently, the sponsoring Springfield Area Education Foundation (SAEF) added the Achievers Hall of Fame, for significant contributions in business, law, medicine and other fields.

The early June ceremony combined arts and achievers. SAEF President Stanley Johnson, greeted inductees and guests for the luncheon program. Introducing inductees were district and/or SAEF presenters including Dave Ash, Kevin Cooper, Sue Descano, Rob Henry, Norma Mead, George Trout, Jr., and Merle “Mike” Werley.

Inducted into the Arts Hall of Fame included: Harrington E. “Kit” Chrissy, Jr., 1962, musical performer, concert impresario, band historian and author; Kim Shockley Fink, 1972, musical performer and 1994 creator of the “Makin’ Music Rockin’ Rhythms,” children’s music program, now 20 locations around the country; Jonathan Jenkins, 2001, reality television editor of programs featured on HGTV, National Geographic, Discovery, History Channel, Food Network and Travel Channel, among others; Jocelyn Collins Moore, 1990, professional vocalist, violinist, conductor and music educator who has performed internationally, and has extensive vocal work in church music in New Jersey.

Also inducted: Scott Van Patter, 1970, professional trombone musician and teacher, has a classical and commercial/jazz music repertoire, and performing career with dozens of luminaries; Deidre Finnegan Wilman, 1992, has a 20-year career teaching, performing, directing and choreographing. She is currently the director/choreographer at Cheltenham High School.

Inductees in the Achievers Hall of Fame were: Dr. Brian P. Brennan, 1990, an assistant professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and medical director of the Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders Institute at McLean Hospital. Brennan is also researching new treatments for mood and anxiety disorders; Geoffrey DeLizzio, 1999, is currently chief operation officer of the American Red Cross, National Capital Region. His work in healthcare has taken him around the world, living and visiting in more than 50 countries; and Dr. Jacquelyn M. Hickey, 1995, an assistant principal and athletic director in the Tredyffrin/Easttown School District with a lifelong dedication to serving. Hickey has extensive philanthropic and volunteer activities.

Honored, but not able to attend were: J. George Sotter, 1956, who had a career in the sciences which included a jet propulsion laboratory, private industry and his own engineering corporation. Sotter’s comprehensive and distinguished career has been enhanced with travel to 40 countries on five continents; and Dr. Andrew Weber, 1979, who pursued a medical career and served as chief radiologist of Rex/UNC Healthcare for five years. He has been a partner with Raleigh Radiology Associates since 1992.


Facebook Comments